IMAG1228_1 IMAG1227_1

Ahh it’s that time of the month. Birchbox delivery day! I’ve been really excited about this months box and I am so happy it arrived in time for my christmas party this Saturday. This is only my second Birchbox delivery so i’m still in the honeymoon phase with it. If you haven’t yet subscribed, do so here to get 50 extra reward points (£5) to spend in the e-shop! I’ve only been signed up for 2 months and have already collected almost £20 worth of points. Hello christmas present to myself! Anyway, here’s what was inside my December box..

Eyeko Fat Eye Stick in ‘Smoke’ (full size)

IMAG1224_1 This was the first product that I tested, and I was very pleasantly surprised. Within 5 minutes I tried out two different looks – one using it along the lash line a smudging it to create a smokey-eye, and the other using it with a liner brush to create probably the best winged eyeliner i’ve ever done. Very impressed with this and at £8 i’d definitely consider buying it in other shades.

Benefit Christmas Cracker – High Beam

IMAG1225_1

The packaging of this is SO adorable, much like all of Benefit’s products! I’ve never used High Beam before, although I have tried some of their other liquid cheek products. This one looks similar to my MAC Lustre Drops, although it’s lighter in colour so could work for a more dramatic highlighter look. I’m pleased to get this product, although the sample size is a little on the small side.

Electric Hair – Electric Hydrate Shampoo

IMAG1226_1

This sample is a decent size and will probably last a couple of washes which is good. However, even if I fall in love with this shampoo i’m unlikely to part with the £17.50 it cost for a full size bottle. For me, shampoo and conditioner will always be something I buy from a drugstore and i’m unlikely to venture into buying luxury products. I like trying new ones though so this is a welcome sample!

Trilogy Certified Organic Rosehip Oil 

IMAG1220_1

This is the teeniest tiniest sample i’ve ever seen, but I suppose they can’t all be big and I get the feeling that a little will go a long way with this product! I’ve been struggling with dry skin at the moment so i’ll definitely try this in my dry patches. If i’m honest, I can’t really see myself buying it once i’ve used it up as I think i’d prefer to seek cheaper alternatives but it’s nice to try new things!

Model’s Own Nail Polish in ‘Amethyst’ (full size)

IMAG1221_1

I love the velvet lid of this polish, so cute! I’m really loving matte nail polishes at the moment and adding glitter to that is great for the party season. A really nice touch from Birchbox was that you could choose which shade you wanted! I quickly switched this and I like the colour a lot, but it will definitely need two good coats which is unlike some of my other matte polishes.

Ilsci Organics ‘Grape Stem Cell’ Gel Mask

IMAG1223_1 This product promises to ‘smooth and rejuvenate skin’ which to me seems like what every bloody skincare product promises to do? A full size tub of this comes in at a whopping £39.95 which is so expensive! I’ll definitely try this because I have it, but I won’t be buying it once i’ve run out. Not just because of the price, but also because i’ve got so many other skincare product that do the job.

So there we have it, my December Birchbox. Overall i’m pretty impressed with what I received, not forgetting the cute little purse designed exclusively for Birchbox by Sophia Webster which will definitely come in handy for storing makeup on nights out! In terms of beauty products it’s a bit of a mixed bag. I wouldn’t say i’m disappointed with any of the products, just that there are a few I already know I wouldn’t consider buying full size. Having said that, there are a couple of products (the Eyeko fat eye stick and the Model’s Own nail polish) that I can definitely see myself buying again, so all-in-all I consider this months box a success!

What do you think of your December beauty box?

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 22.25.32

twitter-48 instagram-48 bloglovin-48

