ApiNourish Rejuvenating Face Mask, 50ml (£49.99)

face-mask1

I recently won a twitter competition where I sent in a picture of how I love to relax in order to win a Manuka Doctor Rejuvenating Face Mask. It arrived yesterday and I tried it last night so I thought i’d give you a quick review of my thoughts on the product. Now then, I’ve blogged before about Manuka Doctor products (here) and if you’ve read it then you’ll know i’m a BIG fan of the stuff. It’s made with purified bee venom, and there’s something about it which makes your skin feel so tight and smooth, while reducing the appearance of spots almost instantly! I am literally in love with Manuka Doctor products, so winning this really was like Christmas had come early.

When I first opened it, I was a little surprised how tiny it is. The packaging is lovely, as it’s in a frosted glass container with a shiny silver lid, but at only 50ml I was worried that I wouldn’t get much usage out of it. Before using the product, I did as instructed and cleansed my face (I used Manuka Doctor ApiClear Foaming Cleanser, but really as long as your face gets clean then anything will do). I then dried my face and applied the face mask. It’s quite an odd consistency for a face mask, as it kind of feels like a really thick moisturiser. This worried me at first as I thought i’d have to use up a lot of the product to get a proper coating. However, as long as you don’t treat it like a moisturiser (i.e. don’t rub it in) then it doesn’t act like one. I managed to get a thin(ish) layer all over my face and miraculously when I looked back at the pot I’d barely used any product.

It says to leave the mask on for 15-30 minutes depending on your skin type. I started watching TOWIE (don’t judge!) so ended up leaving it on for just over 30 minutes, but for me that felt about right. I went back into the bathroom and began rubbing off the mask in an upwards motion (as instructed). Now this is where you feel the magic happen. The mask wasn’t completely dry and hard like other face masks are, but instead it was kind of waxy. Essentially, I gave my face a good old rub with the tips of my fingers and the mask flakes off which has a sort of exfoliating effect. It’s quite an odd experience, and a bit of a gross one as you do feel like you’re just rubbing all the dead skin off your face. Once you’ve finished making the mask flake, then you can grab a warm face cloth and just gently wipe the flakes away. This is a very quick and easy process, as they come right off with a bit of warmth.

Having done all this, I looked in the mirror and was astounded. My face was so bright and glowing. I looked so fresh faced and my skin was probably the smoothest it’s been in years. Not only that, but some of my problem areas where spots had previously been flaring up were now calmed down. Now, this product is priced at £49.99, which for just 50ml I think is pretty expensive. Saying that, it is a luxury product and if you’re willing to splash out then this is the one to go for! If you’re not (or like me you can’t afford to) then keep an eye out, as Manuka Doctor often have price slashes and half price offers online. It really is a lovely product and i’m so glad I got the chance to try it, but personally I wouldn’t buy it again unless it was on offer as 50 quid for a face mask is just too much in my opinion.

Have you ever tried this product?

Screen Shot 2014-11-14 at 22.25.32

twitter-48 instagram-48 bloglovin-48

